The Simple Things

I tend to shy away from writing on things of a more personal nature.  This blog isn;t meant to be about me, but my ideas.  Still, recent events have given me enough to think about, and as writing can be such an exploratory process, I figured I would put some words down and see where they take me…

I’ve been unfortunately rather busy lately, so much so that I’ve had to cut down on time spent practicing martial arts and working out.  In response, I’ve streamlined my workouts to slide easily in among various obligations.  It’s rather simple now:

  • Deadlifts
  • Overhead Presses

High-weight, low-reps on the deadlifts and low-weight, hi-reps on the presses.  Nothing fancy.  Just two basic lifts. It’s not a suitable plan for the long-term, but it’ll do for now.

This has had me thinking on the nature of simplicity.  I’m not one of those who worships at the alter of unpretentiousness, and I try not to shave with Occam’s Razor if I don’t have to.  My predilections tend towards the complex over the straightforward (indeed, one of the critiques of my idea of masculinity was that it was overly complex).  Simplicity isn’t my thing, but I won’t deny that sometimes the simplest approaches are the best.

I’m not the only one with simplicity on the mind recently.  Both Bryce Laliberte and Amos and Gromar have been thinking simple in a different fashion, in trying to devise short and easy sound bites with which to capture the essence of neoreactionary thought.  This fits in with something else that’s been on my mind recently.

See, I’ve been bouncing around how to best spread our ideals.  Now, some might say that neoreactionary precepts are “The Truth” and that when exposed to them, all shall see the light.  I’m not even going to comment on how naive that is.  Truth is never that simpleBecause of that, at some point in time, reactionaries are going to need to figure out how to market themselves.  Sound bites may strike some as distasteful, but as long as we never drop to “Buzzfeed” levels of inanity, and keep our remarks piercing and intelligent, I don’t see any issues arising from our development of quick and easy talking points that we can drop at a moment’s notice.

So I might throw my hat into the ring for this sort of thing.  I’ve always enjoyed seeing how far I can stretch my cleverness.  It seems like it might also be fun to think some more about how to accelerate the memetic spread of reaction.  Putting together a catalog of tactics to achieve this end would be a grand old time.  Piecing all that together while developing a larger PR strategy as a whole?  Now that’s a hefty challenge.  Sounds like just the sort of thing a big-picture guy like me would enjoy.

What can I say?  It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than it is for me to be satisfied with the simple things.

VIRTUS TENTAMINE GAUDET

One thought on “The Simple Things

  1. The Old Man in the Cave 11/20/2013 / 7:37 PM

    I’m struggling with something similar. I’m used to reading stuff written long ago, and hence I tend to write like that.

    That doesn’t fly too well with anyone nowadays. Common folk don’t have the patience for it, and academia has nothing but scorn for anything that smacks of the 18th or 19th centuries.

    Which is why I’m glad I’ve found a circle where someone who writes like Bryce can be appreciated. Agreed, the trick is expanding the circle.

Leave a Reply

