Equality as Injustice

I was recently the subject of what you might call “racial profiling”. To give the short version of the story, I was “randomly selected” for a pat-down and a bag search twice in the span of five minutes while trying to board a flight.

I completely understand why it happened. My European ancestry may have granted me fair skin, but I was also a bearded young man flying out of a Muslim country with a copy of the Qur’an in his bag (which I have been reading for academic reasons). That sort of thing tends to merit scrutiny.

One look at my passport, of course, and suddenly everything cleared up and airport security was nothing but smiles and condolences. Western Imperialism, though dead in a strictly political sense, still has its lingering perks.

Despite the efforts of my liberal-leaning colleagues to use this event as a lesson to teach me the evils of racial profiling, I considered the whole thing to be a rather entertaining affair (the only person in my group of students who got more of a kick out of it than I did was the actual Muslim, who was glad that for once someone else was getting pulled aside).

More than that though, I think my being selected was perfectly justified. My physical appearance and the circumstances I was in suggested that I was a member of a demographic that has demonstrated an above-average tendency to plan and carry out acts of terrorism relative to most other demographics. On a pragmatic level, of course, it made sense to give me a closer look. But are the arguments for this sort of behavior only pragmatic in nature?

As long as different groups behave in ways that differ in a statistically significant fashion, certain forms of discrimination will always be justified. If you wish to be fair, you must judge groups based on the collective actions of the individuals who comprise that group, and different actions will merit different judgments. It would be most unfair not to reward say, the Japanese, with shorter waiting times and less scrutiny at airports, because no one of Japanese descent has intentionally crashed an airplane into anything since 1945.

It is thus seems to be the case that treating groups “equally” is be most unfair. Justice is done by making and applying correct judgments, not forgoing them. To cease judgment is to cease justice. To treat people with equality (since it requires the suspension of judgment) is thus a great injustice.

 Equality is injustice.

 “Social Justice” is anything but. Real social justice is giving people exactly what they deserve. Because different groups will act differently, different groups thus deserve having different behaviors directed towards them.

Equality is injustice.

 The quest for equality is a crusade against justice and fairness by individuals so egotistic that they honestly believe their fear of being judged is sufficient grounds for the abolishment of any form of societal judgment. They so fear justice they would burn civilization to the ground in order to avoid it. The cry for equality is only superficially a cry for justice. At its core, it is a plea to not be subject to it.

 Equality is injustice.

 SPQR

3 thoughts on “Equality as Injustice

  1. Wald 02/17/2014 / 12:38 PM

    It’s a neat rhetorical trick that the left strives to make things equal, knowing people conflate it with being fair.

    This is a good angle to attack from.

    Wald

  2. April Gaede 02/18/2014 / 1:31 PM

    Whatever. Most of the time whites traveling are discriminated against. My 2 year old was once chosen for a “pat down”. They inspected her diaper. I pointed out that the small dog w the lady ahead of me should have been checked too. Terrorists are more likely to have a stick of dynamite up a dogs ass than a bomb in their babies diaper. Also was recently asked to remove my scarf which they acknowledged i would not have to remove if i was muslim. Tell me how a scarf cannot be xrayed?

Leave a Reply

