Friday Night Fragments #21

So that is what it sounds like from the other side. I have always wondered.

This next song is really weird for me to listen to, because a girl with whom I was briefly involved actually did call me a “beautiful nightmare” once:

I’m actually half-wondering if this Skylar Grey chick gets all her material from various ex-girlfriends of mine. Let’s move on before this gets a bit too “Twilight Zone”.

Bryce doing a new drive for his revamped Patreon. If you have the cash to spare, go throw him a few bucks. It’s a contribution to the development and establishment of a new foundation for social science.

Yes, his new book is THAT ambitious. Bryce graciously extended to me the chance to read some of what he’s put together and offer my comments on it. He’s put out the first chapter for free, and I can personally attest that the chapters that follow it are equally as monumental and even more important. There is no doubt in my mind that years from now, Bryce is going to be printed in textbooks and quoted by pseudo-intellectual teenage hipsters who are trying to show off and appear intelligent.

That’s a future worth funding.

Lee Kuan Yew died this Sunday, and with his death came a flood of obituaries memorializing the man. This part of the Internet was no exception. Many of these were fawning, but some pointed out that he wasn’t some deity come to earth, and a common theme running through many of them was whether Singapore can keep its position in the world without Harry Lee at the helm.

Nick Land said something that I thought was worth digging into a bit:

He was a Neoreactionary before anybody knew what that was, an autocratic enabler of freedom, an HBD-realist multiculturalist, a secessionist Anglospherean, and the teacher of Deng Xiaoping.

I’ll admit it: it’s the succession of paradoxes that intrigues me the most (followed closely by the idea of a Neoreactionary as being an autocratic, muticultural-even-if-they-won’t-quite-admit-it-to-themselves, secessionist Anglospherean).

Autocratic enabler of freedom

What is freedom, really? Is it the ability to act of ones own free will, unencumbered by other burdens or obstacles? How could we preserve it?

The last thing I would ever trust to protect my freedom is a government that claims that it will protect freedom, for we fetishize what we do not have, and any government established to protect freedom will do great and terrible and oppressive things in freedom’s name.

It’s a simple metric. Those who claim to protect freedom are will be your greatest oppressors. Those who claim to facilitate equality will act in most unequal fashions. Those who claim to seek justice will act in the most unjust ways that you could possibly imagine.

Be careful what you claim to idolize. Be even more careful what you profess to believe in. You might just find yourself compromising, degrading, and blaspheming your most cherished values and yet all the while praising them and invoking them ever more loudly.

An HBD-realist multicuturalist

This I understand a bit more. There’s a big difference between “people are different” and “we should exclude anybody who is different”. The sentiment that “People are different but anyone who can cut it and who behaves properly is welcome here” is, I think, a most reasonable statement. Even if most people can’t handle multiculturalism, the existence of a few places in which a high-IQ, high-conscientious, pro-capitalist population is not forbidden from allowing it to arise naturally is fine in my book.

An Anglosphere seccesionist

The Anglosphere. A great place to grow up. An important place to understand. Would you really want to live there, though? Would you trust the Anglosphere as a good place to found a familial dynasty that you intend to last for a thousand years?

All together though, does the combination of these three things (autocratic enabler of freedom, HBD-realist multiculturalist, secessionist Anglospherean) create a neoreactionary? I think the answer is “yes”. A neoreactionary will not necessarily be these things, but someone who is the things is almost certainly neoreactionary in thought.

How you deal with that observation is up to you.

Some of the most shocking (to say nothing of annoying) moments of my life come when I underestimate just how stupid and impressionable that most people are.

“What? Oh wow. That’s so impressive. I can’t believe you just flew off to another country like that. What was it like?

What was it like? Well, study abroad is a glorified excuse to get a sweet tan while breaking a bunch of local laws, taking weird foreign drugs that you can’t get in the US, and banging chicks who’ve gone three months without seeing their boyfriends and are so desperate for sexual release that you would actually feel more accomplished if you were to literally spend an afternoon shooting fish in a barrel.

The only thing that’s impressive about it is that I managed to learn anything at all.

Morocco? Where’s that? Africa?! Why didn’t you just go to London or someplace like that.

Because I was born there, you dipshit. I love going back, but why would I do it for study abroad? Might as well go back to fucking New Jersey.

Was it safe?

Says the person who comes from Chicago and has no understanding that most places on earth (even in the third world) are way safer than certain American cities.

Do they hate Americans?

I’m actually kind of surprised that they don’t. Horny, hedonistic American college students are some of the worst people on earth, and they constituted about 85% of the Americans that the locals were exposed to.

The “best” part about all of this is that now I keep getting advised to put my study abroad “experience” on my resume. Apparently it look impressive to employers and helps the job search.

It’s times like these I actually hope that this world is merely an intricate hallucination that I’m experiencing while tied to a bed and being pumped full of semi-legal drugs in some kind of mental hospital.

You guys must really like propaganda. I published this post at roughly 2:00 am on Wednesday. I went to bed, woke up several hours later, and after taking care of a few obligations, checked my blog stats. Even at 10:00 am the traffic was sizable. By 8:30 pm I had shattered my previous record in traffic (I must have crossed the threshold sometime between 7:00 and 7:30). When midnight hit, I’d blasted away my previous record in daily traffic. I would be remiss in not noting that a significant chunk of this came from Nick Land, but I also took in some decent numbers from Neorxn.com, as well as a small bit of traffic from Twitter and the Dark Enlightenment Reddit.

Bigger and better in 2015. Fun stuff.

3 thoughts on “Friday Night Fragments #21

  1. Bryce Laliberte 03/27/2015 / 9:05 PM

    Thanks for the plug.

Leave a Reply

